Singapore is a southeast Asian city-state off the southern tip of the Malay Peninsula, 137 km north of the equator. An island country made up of 63 islands, including the main island, widely known as Singapore Island but also as Pulau Ujong. There are two man-made connections to Johor, Malaysia: the Johor-Singapore Causeway in the north, and the Tuas Second Link in the west. Jurong Island, Pulau Tekong, Pulau Ubin, and Sentosa are the largest of Singapore’s smaller islands. Singapore is one of the world’s top five leading financial centres, and its port is one of the five busiest in the world. 

The Singapore Companies Act governs the operations of the Singapore Private Limited Company.

    Key features of the Singapore Private Limited Company: 

    • Company name with suffixes to denote limited liability (i.e. “Private Limited” or “Pte Ltd”) for privately held companies
    • No object clauses required in the Memorandum of Association
    • Minimum issued share capital is one share of $1.00 in any currency
    • Minimum requirement of one resident individual Director and one resident individual Secretary, and one Shareholder (either corporate or individual)
    • Information on registered shareholders, directors and secretary are available for public inspection
    • No public disclosure of beneficial ownership information
    • Local registered office is required
    • Board meetings can be conducted anywhere in the world
    • Annual accounts in compliance with the Singapore financial reporting standards are required for filing together with the annual return
    • Requirement for audit but there are exemptions for small business or dormant companies with no accounting transactions during the financial year