Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands, consisting of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman, are located in the western Caribbean, about 150 miles south of Cuba, 460 miles south of Miami, Florida, and 167 miles northwest of Jamaica. The capital of the Cayman Islands is George Town which is situated on the western shore of Grand Cayman. Geographically, the Cayman Islands are part of the Cayman Ridge, which extends westward from Cuba.


The legal system of the Cayman Islands is based upon English Law and is a combination of common law and statute. The Cayman Islands is a British overseas territory, with its judiciary appointed by the territorial government. The Privy Council in London, United Kingdom is the ultimate appellate court.


The Cayman Islands Companies Law governs the operations of the Cayman Islands Exempted Company.